Unique live-in caregiver job

13 Jan 2024
Apply

Very nice opportunity for a young ambitious individual. Please be in your 20s or 30s. The job requires relocation to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, a beautiful island with beaches and lots of activities. Please feel free to ask questions.

About me. I have ALS which affects my body but not my mind. I still like to stay active with my mind, like working with eye gaze and adaptive technology. If you are not familiar with ALS or items discussed below, I encourage you to read about it online. I rely on a feeding tube for nutrition, a ventilator with tracheostomy to breathe, a hoyer lift to transfer, and a computer to communicate (eye gaze). I obviously require 24/7 caregiver support. This job will require you to learn about how to manage my equipment but we will teach you, no experience is necessary. We will make sure you are comfortable before being left alone with me.

Prior to my diagnosis of ALS, I worked and lived in NYC for a global consulting firm. I loved biking around the city, traveling around the world, and hanging out with friends. I was 38 when I was diagnosed and am 45 now.

Living situation. You will have your own bedroom in a 4 bedroom house. Two caregivers occupy two of the three bedrooms upstairs. I am in the master bedroom downstairs.

The caregiving team. There are 4 caregivers, two live-in caregivers and two external caregivers who live nearby. You will be replacing one of the live-in caregivers and helping out everyone whenever you are needed. Your schedule will fluctuate depending on the needs of the team. You will work some day shifts, night shifts, some weekends, etc. Expect to work 50 hours a week on average. You will have plenty of time to work on personal endeavors such as remote schooling or working.

Job responsibilities and compensation

-Caregiving - taking care of me including, toileting, transferring, eating with feeding tube, bathing, dressing, ventilating with a tracheostomy and miscellaneous caregiving tasks.

-Driving me to Dr appointments. You must be able to drive but I have a car.

-Administrative tasks - helping manage my calendar, doctors appointments, and other activities. Help me with projects around the home including tracking supplies, organization, adaptive technology, chair adjustments and miscellaneous tasks

-Monthly compensation of $2,500 to be paid at the end every month plus housing in a nice house!

-I will also pay for your flight.

Given that we will be living together, it is important to me that you are fun to live with. I try to stay positive and like to laugh, I also have a serious side to me depending on what I am doing.

Please share some information about yourself, such as

-what you like to do in your free time,

-do you have family and friends in the US,

-what is your immigration status (does not matter for the job)

-are you married, dating or single and do you have children,

-what interests you about this job,

-are you clean organized and a quick learner

-confirm if you are confident that you will be comfortable doing this type of work

-what questions or concerns do you have about me or the job

# care taker, caretaker, CNA, HHA, nurse, gay, lgbt, relocation, housing provided

  • ID: #50858691
  • State: South Carolina Hilton head 00000 Hilton head USA
  • City: Hilton head
  • Salary: See details within
  • Job type: Full-time
  • Showed: 2024-01-13
  • Deadline: 2024-03-13
  • Category: Healthcare
Apply